Dennis R. Taylor named as Dean of Science, Engineering, Technology, and Mathematics (STEM)

Dennis taylorMr. Taylor most recently served the position in an interim role. He has also served as an Associate Professor of Mathematics and as the chairperson of the Mathematics Department from fall 2010 to the spring 2018. He has assisted with the creation of new courses, programs, and memorandum of understanding agreements to better assist all students to complete their desire higher education endeavors. He has also assisted with the writing and receiving of grants on the levels of college, state, and national agencies to assist with student students in all level of mathematics and other disciplines.   

Before coming to BRCC, Mr. Taylor served an Assistant Professor of Mathematics and the Director of the Center of Excellence for Mathematics and Science at Southern University at New Orleans (SUNO) in New Orleans. He was also the Mathematics Specialist for the Academic Learning Center at SUNO from 1989 to 1994. He has also taught students the subject of mathematics and Statistics at Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa, University of Northern Iowa in Cedar Falls, Iowa, Des Moines Area Community College in Des Moines, Iowa, and at other colleges, universities, and city and/or state programs in south Louisiana. 

In his new role, Mr. Taylor serves as a member of the College's academic administrative team and is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the STEM Division. He oversees courses, programs, activities, faculty, staff, and resources of three departments that include Mathematics, Science, Computer Science, and Engineering, and reports to the Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs. 

Mr. Taylor earned his Bachelor of Science in Mathematics from Southern University at New Orleans and his Masters of Science in Mathematics from Southern University and A&M College in Baton Rouge.  He has also completed several hours of course work at the doctorate level from Southern University and A&M College and Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa.